Crest’s Nimmala named Wade Boggs Award Winner

Strawberry Crest senior shortstop Arjun Nimmala was named the 2023 Wade Boggs Award winner at a ceremony before the Hillsborough County Commission on Wednesday. Nimmala, a projected first round selection in the upcoming MLB first-year players draft this summer, paced the Chargers offense with a .479 average, 29 RBI and six home runs this season.

The Wade Boggs Athletic Achievement Award, presented annually for the last 17 years, honors a high school baseball player or team in Hillsborough County who displays outstanding athletic, scholastic, and community achievements.

Nimmala adds the Boggs award to a growing list of impressive post-season accolades sending off the Florida State signee from a standout high school career. He was named the Florida Athletic Coaches Association District 15 Player of the Year last month, and was awarded the Florida Gatorade High School Player of the Year last week.

Sickles pitcher and first baseman Caden McDonald and Jesuit’s Wes Mendes were named Honorable Mention for the award. McDonald, a University of Florida commit was the recipient of the Wade Boggs Award last season, and again earns recognition after leading the Gryphons to the Class 6A state championship with 12 home runs and a 12-1 record on the mound. This is the second-straight year Mendes, an Ole Miss signee, has earned honorable mention for the award after helping Jesuit to a Class 5A state runner-up finish hitting .388, with 41 runs scored and 36 RBI. Mendes also was named the Florida Dairy Farmers’ 5A Player of the Year for the second-straight season.